Stansted Park stands in 1800 acres of parkland and ancient forest within the South Downs National Park. In 1983 the 10th Earl of Bessborough gave Stansted Park, the Arboretum, his family home and its beautiful contents to the public.
The state rooms are furnished as though the 10th Earl was still at home giving the visitor a real sense of a bygone era, the extensive servants’ quarters below stairs are filled with historic artefacts brought to life by the very knowledgeable and friendly stewards who will guide you through the vibrant history of the House.
Stansted Forest provides many routes for walkers and cyclists and is enjoyed by thousands of visitors each year. The estate is carefully managed to conserve wildlife habitats, which means Stansted is home to a variety of unusual birds, plants and insects.
The Grounds and Walled Gardens are open all year, this includes the Arboretum, The Pavilion Tearoom, The Stansted Park Garden Centre and Stansted Farm Shop.
The private chapel and The House with its splendid mansion rooms and the fully furnished Servants’ Quarters below stairs are open to visitors from Easter to September.
Due to funding and staffing issues Stansted Park House, the Arboretum and surrounding Grounds, including the walled garden playground and maze will now remain shut to the public until Easter 2021. Events will continue as far as possible from August to the end of the year. Please see our What’s On? page for the latest information on events.
All decisions remain under constant review and Stansted Park will continue to conform to all emerging Government guidelines.
No reviews. Be the first to write one